Pope Benedict XVI: Gay Marriage A Threat To ‘Future Of Humanity’

Frankly, this gives me the shivers! ~J

Pope Benedict Xvi

First Posted: 1/9/12 01:38 PM ET Updated: 1/9/12 05:17 PM ET


By Philip Pullella

VATICAN CITY, Jan 9 (Reuters) – Pope Benedict said on Monday that gay marriage was one of several threats to the traditional family that undermined “the future of humanity itself”.

The pope made some of his strongest comments against gay marriage in a new year address to the diplomatic corps accredited to the Vatican in which he touched on some economic and social issues facing the world today.

He told diplomats from nearly 180 countries that the education of children needed proper “settings” and that “pride of place goes to the family, based on the marriage of a man and a woman.”

“This is not a simple social convention, but rather the fundamental cell of every society. Consequently, policies which undermine the family threaten human dignity and the future of humanity itself,” he said.

The Vatican and Catholic officials around the world have protested against moves to legalise gay marriage in Europe and other developed parts of the world.

One leading opponent of gay marriage in the United States is New York Archbishop Timothy Dolan, whom the pope will elevate to cardinal next month.

Dolan fought against gay marriage before it became legal in New York state last June, and in September he sent a letter to President Barack Obama criticising his administration’s decision not to support a federal ban on gay marriage.

In that letter Dolan, who holds the powerful post of president of the U.S. Bishops Conference, said such a policy could “precipitate a national conflict between church and state of enormous proportions.”

The Roman Catholic Church, which has some 1.3 billion members worldwide, teaches that while homosexual tendencies are not sinful, homosexual acts are, and that children should grow up in a traditional family with a mother and a father.

“The family unit is fundamental for the educational process and for the development both of individuals and states; hence there is a need for policies which promote the family and aid social cohesion and dialogue,” Benedict told the diplomats.

Gay marriage is legal in a number of European countries, including Spain and the Netherlands.

Some Churches that have allowed gay marriage, women priests, gay clergy and gay bishops have been losing members to Catholicism, and the Vatican has taken steps to facilitate their conversion.

In 2009, Benedict decreed that Anglicans who leave their Church, many because they feel it has become too liberal, can find a home in Catholicism in a parallel hierarchy that allows them to keep some of their traditions.

The Vatican has since set up “ordinariates,” structures similar to dioceses, in Britain and the United States to oversee ex-Anglicans who have converted and be a point of contact for those wishing to do so. (Reporting By Philip Pullella; editing by Tim Pearce)

This entry was posted in Illuminati/Terrorism/Corruption, Political and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Pope Benedict XVI: Gay Marriage A Threat To ‘Future Of Humanity’

  1. Pingback: Once again, the Pope proves religion is a crutch for bigotry » A Plague Of Mice

  2. ickytwerp39 says:

    I think there is a unreasonable bias in the new age community against “mainstream” religion.
    There are many reasons for this. Human nature, for one. Also, the NA community confuses catholicism with that weirdo, Johnny come lately American protestantism,,.. with their goofy talk of “rapture”, and Armageddon . Raised a Episcopalian, basically Catholic, I never heard of that stuff.
    Growing up in Dallas, a protestant hotbed, I didnt hear them talk about it until the advent of that whole Jerry falwell, RNC, moral majority political movement in the late 70′s that led to Reagan.

    The cabal runs on child-molestation. They gain control of key personnel by filming them with minors. There is a intelligence community (rogue) involvement with this program, which also includes the so-called “satanic movement” which is mainly about members donning robes and masks and having sex with small children, usually of single mothers, in small, Mason controlled towns. You likely also know about the Boy’s Town-Bush white house sex scandals, which actually made the papers. Seeing how the church has much the cabal wants, I am not surprised they are now being accused of “child abuse”. Just sayin

    • Jean says:

      IT, I wish I could agree with you. I think mainstream religion is one of the huge problems on our planet and has caused more wars and more death than almost any other factor in our history. Killing in the name of God has nothing – absolutely nothing – to do with Love. If God is Love, as the Bible tells us, then somebody in the Church has really gotten their wires crossed! Hugs, ~Jean

      • ickytwerp39 says:

        Jean,
        I doubt any war has really been fought over religion. Would you agree with Michael Savage when he says “the islamofascists knocked down the WTC towers because we refuse to convert to Islam”? The wars are fought over gold, land, and acess to markets.
        Wars tend to harm churches. The church has suffered lost membership in Europe because of WW2 because they don’t understand why God would let that happen. The Church of England ( Episcopal) has yet to recover from the revolutionary war in 1776.
        Being called The Church of England would be akin to being called The Church of Germany during WW2. I would say big banking has more to do with starting the wars by far.

        If you want to say church leadership can be co-opted, well, yes they can. If you want to say religion is often a PRETEXT for war ,I would agree with that. I would also say recruits often used God as a excuse to join the army, while they were really looking for army pay,food, and shelter. Seems most of the US military is composed of people from Appalachia these days. I think it is about economics. Spiritual beings, reduced to fighting over inanimate matter. That is messed up.

        I think you may just object to the prevalent bumper sticker, glib, church of the here and now, with their silly literal biblical approach, i I’m right there with you on that one. I don’t believe The Great Flood, for a example, ever happened. I think it that story is a way of illustrating what is happening to me right now.
        To cut to the chase, I actualized on the fact I, however inadvertantly, and believe me, it was majorly inadvertant, basically caused what I had blamed certain other parties for, and dropped all charges against them before I even had time to think of it.The instant I did that, I had a sense of a outside intervention, not unlike a flood, if you will. It seems to be “washing” away anything that is not supposed to be there. Not just pain, but also tendancies, defense mechanisms, and bad decisions I have accumulated since whenever. There is also a pallative aspect as well. So I don’t really mind that it seems to
        be a leisury process. I wonder what will be left? I can’t wait to meet myself.

        I don’t think this would have happened if I hadn’t forgave. Giving me protection while allowing me to retain my anger wouldn’t be good. Giving me this protection while allowing me to think I am free to ignore the rule of law is no good.
        I may mean well, but I am Dennis the Menace. I just don’t have the wisdom to guage the unintended consequences. I don’t have all the facts. I think I should stop trying to assume authority and wait for a assignment.

        Hugs to you

  3. Pingback: Human Rights Online Philippines

  4. ickytwerp39 says:

    I say we all slow down on the Catholic and Jew bashing until all the facts are in.
    I think the church is under attack along with the rest of us. The church has been around along time, and must have some huge prosperity accounts, which I define at sums of money set aside centuries ago and through the magic of compound interest, have long ago grown to unimaginable sums. So now they are getting called child molesters and all kinds of things. We don’t know what kind of threats they have been subjected to.
    I heard on Coast to Coast the church was threatened with nuclear holocaust in the late 50′s when picking a new pope after the death of Pope Pious.

    While I’m on it, the Catholics aren’t the only ancient organizations being accused of things. Somehow, any group dating back 1000′s of years are being deemed “secret societies”. The mere fact a entity has existed for centuries and centuries only means they have been around a long time. How have they survived all this time? Prosperity accounts! I bet all 1000 year organizations have them The protestants haven’t been around long enough to have them bear fruit, but I bet they have started them.
    It seems logical that a cabal that attacks whole peoples to steal their gold are also attacking the church for it’s umimaginable sums compound-interested for CENTURIES and CENTURIES properity accounts.They’ve got them a golden goose “too big to kill”.
    My present working assumption is the church has a gun at it’s back.

    • Jean says:

      IT, I think the Church will prove to be involved in criminal activities. I think the Jewish people have been abused and manipulated for centuries by the Rothchilds family, bankers who seek to control the planet and are in cahoots with the Catholic Church. They are both behind the creation of the State of Israel – and they are also behind the unhealthy and ‘unreal’ mindset that the Jewish people have developed through total fabrications of their ‘real’ history. This statement of mine is a huge over-simplifications of the situation, but it is impossible to say more here. Most of this information, however, is available on this site – but you will have to dig a bit . . . Hugs, ~Jean

  5. Pingback: Why Do We Give The Pope Credibility? « youngphilosopher89

  6. Zooey says:

    Speaking as a gay person, I find this entire matter objectionable. The pope is not gay and is not qualified to speak on our behalf; he’s more of a Satanic animal who likes to play with little boys as far as I can tell.

    It’s also offensive to me when straight people plop their “truths” right on top of my reality. Undermining family, yeah right. Walk a mile in my shoes and say the same thing.

    • Jean says:

      My experience with gay couples/families has been that they can just as easily provide the love that my parents – a straight couple – could never give. Love is love is love! That’s what I think. Hugs, ~Jean

  7. Alex says:

    I just think the institution the Pope represents is just another wall that divides humanity. Divide and conquer the masses. Control, control, control… on and on and on.

  8. bill says:

    does the pope have no biological education??????
    men and women will ensure the continuance of humanity!!!!!!

  9. Joe says:

    He is the head of one of the largest criminal organizations on the planet. His opinion and words are meaningless.

    • Diarmuid says:

      Yes, Joe, but so is the US President… I have no problem if people want to lambast these folks, in most cases they deserve it, but do it with the truth and real, provable, facts. The article is garbage precisely because it tries to influence the reader to view the subject in a certain way, and tramples all over the truth. One more fact that may have escaped many is that Reuters is owned and controlled by the Rothschild’s. Are you starting to get the picture? The rats are turning on each other. D.

      • Jean says:

        Diarmuld, I think the article is subtle and clever, and it is meant to be so. I think it is deceptive in the highest degree. I don’t listen anymore to their words, I watch what they do! In another area, the Church has been sitting on huge sums of money – but nary a penny more than to keep up the deception has been spent to relieve the terrible pain and struggles of humanity. . .

        Just my heartfelt opinion. . .
        Hugs,
        ~Jean

      • Diarmuid says:

        Hi Jean, how are you today? I completely agree with you. I have no love for this organisation, but we must hold ourselves to the highest ethical values precisely because they do not. Seeking truth must be our mission above all else. Through, real, truth all will be revealed. They will hang themselves in the end and without anyone elses help. Blessings and Peace D.

  10. Diarmuid says:

    Here is what was really said:-

    “Education is a crucial theme for every generation, for it determines the healthy development of each person and the future of all society. … In addition to a clear goal, that of leading young people to a full knowledge of reality and thus of truth, education needs settings. Among these, pride of place goes to the family, based on the marriage of a man and a woman. This is not a simple social convention, but rather the fundamental cell of every society. Consequently, policies which undermine the family threaten human dignity and the future of humanity itself. … There is a need for policies which promote the family and aid social cohesion and dialogue. It is in the family that we become open to the world and to life. … In this context of openness to life, I note with satisfaction the recent sentence of the Court of Justice of the European Union forbidding patenting processes relative to human embryonic stem cells, as well as the resolution of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe condemning prenatal selection on the basis of sex. More generally, and with particular reference to the West, I am convinced that legislative measures which not only permit but at times even promote abortion for reasons of convenience or for questionable medical motives compromise the education of young people and, as a result, the future of humanity.”

    From: http://www.ewtn.com/vnews/getstory.asp?number=117266

    The article above has put a particular spin on this story. I suspect that the writer has his own agenda. It is very possible that the Pope is anti gay, but I can’t sit back and allow writers like this to go unchallenged when they use clever sound-bites to twist words to suit their own ends. Peace D.

  11. WHEN THE PRIME MISISTER OF IRELAND SPOKE OUT IN DEFENCE OF ALL THE CHILDREN WHO HAD BEEN RAPED, BUGGERED, AND BEATEN BY HIS CHURCH, I PUT THAT SPEECH ON MY WEB SITE. I GOT CALLS FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD, GROWN MEN CRYING, IT WAS HEARTBREAKING TO LISTEN TO THE DEEP HURT THAT HAD BEEN INFLICTED ON THEM WHEN THEY WERE DEFENCELESS, INNOCENT CHILDREN, I HAD TO REMOVE MY PHONE NUMBER FROM MY SITE, I COULD NOT COPE WITH SUCH INTENSE PAIN. THE VATICAN HAS DESTROYED SO MANY LIVES, ESPECIALLY IN IRELAND. LISTEN NOT TO WHAT THEY SAY, LOOK AT THEIR ACTIONS. THE POPE IS A PROTECTOR OF PAEDOPHILES, NEED I SAY MORE.?

    • Jean says:

      Thanks, Veronica, for sharing your personal experiences. These ring so true! I’m a victim myself, and I know how difficult the recovery is from sexual abuse – as does the Pope, I am sure. Being a part of a criminal apparatus as he is, he cannot be unaware; it has to have been permitted for the very reasons surrounding the control and destruction of humanity with which the church is deeply involved: it twists and slants every aspect of life – not only for the victime – but for the perpetrators, as well, who in this case were my relatives, who needed help. In those days, there was none to be had. It affects all family members, some of whom are innocent bystanders – perhaps other children. As the battle lines were drawn between my parents, it literally destroyed their lives and my entire family. It is not so much the act itself, although that is terrible, but it is the twisted psychology that promotes it and that lingers to affect everyone involved, knowingly or unknowingly. The act is hidden – but it cannot be hidden, because it seeps into every aspect of one’s life. One’s life never works, and in my case, because I blocked the event – I was three – it affected my entire life. Thank God we now know it is possible to heal from such abuse, although the road is difficult!

      The Church will be stopped!

      Hugs,
      ~Jean

  12. Contramary says:

    Being raised with strict catholic belief (only in summertime of my childhood until6-7 of age by my aunt and grandparents) these opinions of the Pope are the ever unchanged ones since I do not know. It is deepest 3-D-Prison-Thinking ! Just following the traditional line not even the slightest spark of adapting to even the slightest signals of contemporary times !
    By the way my father was as a youngster serving at the Mass- ceremony for it was a special honour at this time. He told me when I was young and keen of learning of the LIFE- OUT- THERE
    that abuse by the ordinated priests was a common habit at that time which brought out of him his then revolutionary thinking and searching about more inner truth to the surface. So I have known about the abuse since my childhood. And people by then had known about it too but they took it for given facts fearing the reputation as outsider. That was that and this a.m.post just opened up this memory hidden in me just as another once sealed issue in subconsciousness. Thks to the Pope’speech and thus spirit is working turning some negative things into the open and in the end evoking something positive.Done and forever! It is this time that I very often have to say “thank you”!
    Lovelight from Mary

  13. verymerrry says:

    The pope is a threat to humanity, his time is up and he is tightening the reigns of what he has left, he is part of what is in its death throes….Ho’oponopono… :)

Leave a Reply

